Improving global prehospital and emergency health care, public health, and disaster health and preparedness

Emergency Medical Response

On Wednesday, 24 February, Dr. Bill Bograkos; Dr. Stacey Thieme; Sam Broder, OMS II; Victoria Huckestein, OMS I; Cameron Bubar, OMS I; and John Levasseur, OMS II facilitated a discussion on the role of all of UNE’s health care professions in response to a natural disaster. The goal was to promote inter-campus relations and recruit health care professionals for UNE’s World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine (WADEM) Student Club, which is no longer just composed of COM students, but now has participation from Pharmacy, Social Work, and Public Health. (Photo credit: Natalya L Gorsky, Staff Assistant, IPEC)

To view photos from the discussion, please visit the follow link –

The Emergency Medical Response Section of WADEM exists to foster collaboration among scientists and practitioners with an interest in research, education, management and practice in prehospital, transport, emergency and / or disaster health care.

The goals of the Emergency Medical Response Section of WADEM are to:

  • Foster professional growth of members of the Emergency Medical Response Section
  • Increase the profile of the WADEM Emergency Medical Response Section
  • Promote the scientific investigation of Emergency Medical Response practice

The objectives of the Emergency Medical Response Section of WADEM are to:

  • Define and promote relevant Emergency Medical Response research (including disaster response)
  • Promote the function and importance of Emergency Medical Response within disaster preparedness and response activities.
  • Exchange scientific and professional information relevant to Emergency Medical Response practice
  • Develop disaster health co-operation globally amongst Emergency Medical Response practitioners and organisations,
  • Network and integrate Emergency Medical Response into WADEM activities and programs
  • Inform and advise WADEM on matters related to Emergency Medical Response


Joe Cuthbertson 

Deputy Chair

currently unfilled


Sean Smith


Prasit Wuthisuthimethawee

Committee Members

Rick Anderson, Samuel Broder, Rowena Christiansen, Karen Hammad, Daniel Neal, Kristin Ringstad, Mike Williams